People love to talk about themselves. But, when it comes to why they are deserving of a job, a lot of people, myself included, go blank. The only thing worse than looking like an asshole for bragging is bragging about things that aren't even brag-worthy. When I sit down to formulate a resume or personal statement, I always shoot down my first ideas. I feel like things I've accomplished don't count. The pressure to seem "professional" can make  anyone question whether or not the things they've worked hard on are impressive enough, legit enough... or just enough
       I've found that, as corny as it sounds, being yourself is the best thing to do. I've been trying to think about all of these scary, official documents as just... formal representations of who you are. Stressing about whether or not what you have to offer is good enough, is pointless. 



Leave a Reply.