What have you learned? have your goals changed in the last 5 weeks?

This course taught me how to market myself as a writer (and artist), get into freelance writing, network with other writers, self-publish, submit to publishers, and apply for graduate programs, jobs, and internships. 

It showed me how writers have the unique ability to share their unique interests and stories through their work. Anything I'm interested in: gardening, painting, philosophy, physics- has a place in the world of writing, whether its magazines, journals, or online spaces. People want to teach others about every subject imaginable. People want to learn about everything, no matter how obscure. So, writers will always be needed. 

This course showed me that there is a "place" for every writer, and many different ways to share your writing and your talent. 

When I first took this class, I didn't think I wanted to start my own magazine, get into printmaking, or start a blog. Editing and graduate school are still among my goals, and I'm glad I learned more about them. I'm glad we got feedback on our resumes and cover letters, too. I feel like this class forced me to actually organize a portfolio that always seemed complete in my head, and get it together online. 











Leave a Reply.