When I chose to major in Writing Arts in college, I knew I wouldn't be making a steady income off of my future publications and fantasy book deals. I figured I would have to do a lot of writing that was less creative in order to make money. But, the article "10 Things College Writing classes don't teach you about the writing life- but should," definitely opened my eyes to a few things. I always figured I would be editing for extra money, or doing something tedious for a local newspaper. Salerno's article showed me that there are  lots of careers in writing, but you have to forget about the way most college writing professors have portrayed professional writers and what they define as good writing. I also found it ironic that most college grads have no idea how to understand editor's jargon. It seems that most writing programs give students a very wide range of intellectual insights, but little to no practical skills. . . like how to submit to publications, self-publish, write a CV, or speak the same language as editors. 

     I've looked a lot into graduate programs. And, although I loved the grad. class I was able to take last semester, I'm not sure that it would be worth my investment. I'm still open to it, though. And, in class when we learned that going to a larger school can guarantee they have the funding for you, that made me reconsider. 



Leave a Reply.